To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Talking It Out.

Talking it out leads to sorting it out. How often it is that I have found myself cast down by a whole maelstrom of thoughts stirring around in my being. Mixed in with some melancholy emotions the whole experience can be overwhelming and confusing. I trust I have learnt though, that to get out of such a chasm of despair I need to talk. To talk can be the key that can unlock a solution.

In talking you are forced to clothe your emotions in some words. In talking you are forced to cohere all of the disparate ideas swirling around in your being. Through the talking then a clarity can start to emerge which you thought was out of reach. Moreover, in the talking there is an unburdening. There is something that happens when you find a listening ear. It is as if the weight that was upon you starts to lift. I believe, there is more than a little truth in the phrase; a problem shared is a problem halved.

I believe that the two on the road to Emmaus experienced something of this when they met with our Lord. He allowed them to talk and there they were able to start to make sense of all the uncertainties and upsets swirling around inside them.

Finally, can I make a point by saying that you may feel you cannot put words to all that is going on and you can never explain it to anyone. What I would say is you must talk. Just start with one sentence. It does not have to be much, but just get talking.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

