To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

So on last Monday evening at about 10.30 in the foyer linking Manchester Arena and Victoria Station a man laid down his life for the cause he had affiliated with and sold himself to. He gave himself for a false religion, based on lies. And in doing that he wreaked devastation, killing 22, wounding many others (some grievously) and traumatizing a vast number and that is not even to mention the damage to property. This man seems to have done this in full possession of his senses. He seems to have acted with pre-meditated intent.

Which all leaves me to ponder upon how much would I give: for the One

  • who is the way the truth and the life.
  • who gave Himself to death on the cross for the forgiveness of my sins.
  • who is now alive in the glory and is there in heaven for me,
  • who has given me eternal life which can never be taken from me.

In Romans 12:1, after Paul in the opening part of the part of the book, has laid out before the Romans all the glorious truths regarding our salvation, we read  Therefore, I urge you, brothers and sisters, in view of God’s mercy, to offer your bodies as a living sacrifice, holy and pleasing to God – this is your true and proper worship. Sacrifice means laying my life every day at His disposal. Everyday I should die to self and live for him. One day that may mean my life taken from me, but I should know that that is alright if it is in obedience to Him.

In 1 John 3:16  This is how we know what love is: Jesus Christ laid down his life for us. And we ought to lay down our lives for our brothers and sisters. Our faith is a self-sacrificial faith. Are we willing to give all for the benefit of others in obedience to our Master?

So what holds me back from this consecration? Surely so very often it is the fear of man. I won’t speak up, I won’t stand out for fear of what others will think. Fear of man will prove to be a snare, but whoever trusts in the Lord is kept safe is what Proverbs 29:25 says. Oh let us trust the Lord, fear Him and be willing to obey Him whatever the cost.

Philip, won’t you give Him more so much more.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

