To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

His Opportunity.

So I awoke this morning and soon had something on my mind which troubled my heart. I emerged therefore, out of bed as a somewhat disconsolate figure. But then I started to think why should it be this way? Why should I be cast down? Surely this problem is not too big for my God. In fact my God delights to take such problems and use them for his glory; our perplexities can be His opportunities.

So what do I need to bring this transformation into the situation? I need faith. I need this reliance upon God. So only last evening, at our prayer and Bible Study, we observed that the key thing that distinguishes the godly is their faith. So we read in Isaiah 50:10b Let the one who walks in the dark, who has no light, trust in the name of the Lord and rely on their God.

So Philip get your act together or more importantly get your faith together and trust God. That is what the heroes of Hebrews 11 were doing, they were reaching away to trust in the Lord in all their varying situations and circumstances. And Philip you must call to mind the faith-filled assertion of the psalmist which is thrice recorded in Psalm 42:5 and 11 and Psalm 43:5:

Why, my soul, are you downcast?
    Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
    for I will yet praise him,
    my Saviour and my God.

So rise up please my soul and once again hope in your Lord.

In the mercies of the Lord. therefore, my soul brightened, although not without the flickering of some shadows during the day. I must then continue to trust the Lord and see what He will do as the troubles and difficulties of life arise.

Comments on: "His Opportunity." (2)

  1. Thanks for that reminder and encouragement

  2. That’s great, biblical, CBT. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

