To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Can They Pick The Fruit?

Christians are called to be fruit bearers. As a result of the transformation of our lives that comes through knowing Jesus Christ as Lord and Saviour, and through the Holy Spirit coming into our lives, we  are to live lives that display the fruit of God’s workings. Scriptures which indicate this would be:-

  • I am the vine; you are the branches. If you remain in me and I in you, you will bear much fruit; apart from me you can do nothing (John 15:5).
  • This is to my Father’s glory, that you bear much fruit, showing yourselves to be my disciples. (John 15:8)
  • So, my brothers and sisters, you also died to the law through the body of Christ, that you might belong to another, to him who was raised from the dead, in order that we might bear fruit for God. (Rom. 7:4)
  • But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, forbearance, kindness, goodness, faithfulness, gentleness and self-control. Against such things there is no law (Gal. 5:22-23)

In horticulture there is a general understanding that fruit is to be picked and enjoyed. So the question I have to ask myself is whether or not there is the fruit of God’s workings in evidence from my life. Moreover, do people see that there is good fruit on display that they can easily pick? Or do they have to go rummaging through the leaves in order to seek to discover whether there is any good fruit or not.

In Matthew 7:15-20 our Lord gives further clarity about this fruit-bearing issue. He says:-

‘Watch out for false prophets. They come to you in sheep’s clothing, but inwardly they are ferocious wolves. By their fruit you will recognise them. Do people pick grapes from thorn-bushes, or figs from thistles? Likewise, every good tree bears good fruit, but a bad tree bears bad fruit. A good tree cannot bear bad fruit, and a bad tree cannot bear good fruit. Every tree that does not bear good fruit is cut down and thrown into the fire. Thus, by their fruit you will recognise them.

The fruit on display in my life will confirm who I am. We have established that the Christian should have good fruit in their life. However, developing this theme further – let us be clear that everyone is bearing fruit in their  lives. The question is, is there good fruit on display, is there the fruit of God on display? Is that fruit which comes rom the Spirit there for all to see?

So where am I in respect of these things? If I am a Christian I will have good fruit in my life. If I am a healthy Christian I will have lots of good fruit on display.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

