To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

I saw this video recently. It is a snippet of J.I. Packer talking about faith. What struck me is that here is a ninety year old man who must have been a believer in Christ for about seventy two years and he is still excited about trusting God. There is something infectious about it. Moreover, there is something profoundly encouraging in knowing of a saint who has lived and laboured and endured for the Lord over many years and still wants to move forward for God.

This reminded me of the great encouragement that I had when I was a young believer from older Christians. Very often it was simply seeing them still rejoicing in the Lord after many years and undiminished in their desire to move forward for Him. Interestingly, it was particularly the older ladies who seemed to have the biggest impact upon me. Their delight in the Lord and in living for Him was displayed in an attractively serene demeanour.

In old age the contrast between the life lived with faith in Christ and the life lived for this world can be set in sharp relief. A sense of frustration, bitterness and emptiness can pervade the ungodly. Whereas those who are on the shores of glory are so different.

Oh Lord help me to live strong in you and may I heed these words from 2 Peter 1:10-11 which I have seen displayed in others:

Therefore, my brothers and sisters, make every effort to confirm your calling and election. For if you do these things, you will never stumble, and you will receive a rich welcome into the eternal kingdom of our Lord and Saviour Jesus Christ.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

