To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

True Repentance…

…has no strings attached. The prodigal son when he had come to his senses returned to his Father and said  “Father, I have sinned against heaven and against you. I am no longer worthy to be called your son.” (Luke 15:21). He could quite reasonably, have suggested that his father was at least partly culpable for the mess he was in. After all his father had been irresponsible enough to give him his inheritance ahead of time. Also he could have blamed the father for not coming after him and helping him out of the mess he got in. So he might with some justification have said “Father I have sinned against heaven and against you, but you are partly responsible because you actually gave me all that money and did not come and help me”.  Moreover, he could have said that the people who he partied with were partly responsible for bringing him in such a parlous state.

Nothing of that ilk was found in the Son’s returning confession. He was a broken man. He was totally overwhelmed by his own failure. There were no excuses; no blaming anyone else. He was aware that His sin was against the God who reigns in heaven and the father who had been so good to him. This was true repentance.

I suggest if we are seeking to judge if someone is genuinely repentant we might take the returning prodigal son as a model. All so often you hear partial confessions. They say “Yes I know I did wrong, but the circumstances conspired for it to happen, or I was let down or I was provoked or I was enticed.”

Away with such obfuscation let us have the genuine repentance of the returning prodigal.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

