To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Wandery Preaching.

There is a type of preaching that I might call “wandery”. Basically it wanders here, there and everywhere.

When the preacher starts off it can be interesting even exciting as you begin your journey listening to him. However, when he has taken his umpteenth detour into who knows where, it can become very frustrating. I liken it, thereby, to going on a journey. When the coach driver starts to go into unfamiliar territory there can be that excited interest. However, when you are “out-in-the-middle-of-nowhere” and seemingly getting nowhere then you just want to get to your destination and as a result frustration sets in.

I was listening to a message recently and found myself despairing of myself when this frustration came over me. What am I if I can be listening to the Word preached, but get so frustrated. No doubt I have to confess my spiritual poverty. However, not knowing where you are in a message for a long period of time brought on frustration.” Take me on a journey straight to the destination dear brother” , I feel like shouting.

Now to be lost in a sermon for a little while is par for the course, because concentration can wane and the preacher can lose his way. But when it is for a long period it is just so frustrating.

So fellow preacher make sure you know the  journey you are taking in the message that you are preaching. And if you get lost in your message do your listeners a good service and get back on track and tell them where you are.

And Lord I don’t want to be a “wandery” preacher. Please help me.

(Originally published at Venabling on 11th July 2014).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

