To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Alone in a Crowd.

I attended a wedding some years ago when I was in the curious position of really only knowing the bridegroom. I knew his bride and mother slightly, but that was it. Most people at this wedding would have been christians given the church and family connections involved. However, I can remember standing in the room at the reception all alone. A crowd of people all around me all seemingly engaged in the company of each group and me on my own. It was a sobering experience.

This experience is sadly not uncommon in our churches I fear. People so easily gravitate to their groups and have no sense of being alive to the possibility that there are people on their own who are in need of someone to show an interest in them. It reminds me of Galatians 5:14 where the call is for us to be slaves of others. I am never to think of myself, finding what is best for me and indulging that. But rather I am at the disposal of others because that is what it is to have the self-sacrificing life of Christ flowing through me.

So the next time you are at church, think about who you might be able to bless by showing some interest in them.

 

Comments on: "Alone in a Crowd." (1)

  1. Amen to that!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

