To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Complaint

I wrote here about a case I had with HM Revenue and Customs some time ago. Amidst being set on a course which would lead to a tribunal and feeling somewhat overwhelmed by the whole process, I withdrew from the fray at the end of July 2014, and thereby admitted defeat. Nearly twenty two months later I have summoned up the, dare I call it, “courage” to make a complaint. So I posted the letter last friday.

I do believe firmly that Christians is called to be subject to the governing authorities (Rom. 13:1a) and pay taxes (see Rom. 13:6-7). Therefore we are not to be rebellious and disobedient to the authorities. However, I have made the complaint for two reasons:

  1. I still don’t know how my tax should be sorted out for other years. and so there is an issue of truth here. Also I don’t want the issue left for someone else to sort out should I pass away.
  2. There is an issue of Love your neighbour as yourself (Matt. 22:39b). I do not want others to go through what I went through. I want HMRC to learn something of the harmful effects that can ensue from the way they treat people.

I must say I mention those two things conscious that I have a deceitful heart that tends towards wanting revenge. Oh Lord save me from that and keep my motives pure.

The whole experience has, I trust, given me an insight into three things.

  1. The need to listen. A substantial part of the frustration over this issue has been a feeling that people are just not listening to what I say. This challenges me to make sure I don’t make responses to others  until I have fully listened.
  2. When you are badly treated by “the authorities”, and probably anyone else, there is this feeling of wanting to prove that you are on the side of truth. I have an innate feeling that chasing issues only harms those who do the chasing and in the end consumes the chaser. However, I can feel for those like the Hillsborough families who want to chase the truth in the face of continual obfuscation and cover-up.
  3. I feel for those who cannot cope with dealing with “the authorities” and leave those brown envelopes unopened because they just can’t cope. I received a brown envelope recently, for example, the contents of which started to send me into a mild panic. This was the hangover from my experiences in 2013/14, I believe that  having  brought that envelope before the Lord, He graciously gave me some peace.

I will see how it all goes now. I feel vulnerable of once again exposing myself to the might of “the authorities”. I pray to the Lord that I will be able to handle whatever the response is.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

