To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Gone…

I was contacted recently by an acquaintance whom I have had little contact over recent times. He contacted me because he had a friend who was old and dying.  This lady, who was a catholic apparently wanted to be “born again”. He asked if I could help? I said I was happy to do what I could. Accordingly, I made myself available. A date was set to go and see her, but it did not work out. It was not me who changed the arrangements. Soberingly two days later I get a message saying that the lady had passed away. She was gone.

I am left sobered by the experience. My conscience is clear, before the Lord, in that I made myself available and did not cancel any arrangement. But to just consider that she is now gone. I do not know if anyone introduced her to Christ as Saviour. I don’t know if she embraced the Lord. But I do know she is now out in eternity, the gospel opportunity days are passed. Is she with the Lord? I do not know. Oh LORD have mercy. And Lord teach me to seize every opportunity to make Christ known.

 

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

