To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

If Only I had Walked Away.

There are those times in our marriage when May Lin will say something or do something that I think is out of order. I confess that very often my response is to become agitated in my soul because of resentment about what has happened. The next point though is the key point. Will I in my agitated state of heart say anything. If I do it is normally inflammatory. My words will be inappropriately chosen and directed. And then the flames start to burn and before we know it we have conflagration.

I mused upon this in recent experience when I actually achieved the “impossible”; I walked away. And guess what? Within 45 minutes or so I was looking back and seeing that there was no issue at all.

I confess my weaknesses in all this. But it is a reminder to myself of the need, so very often in life to walk away from a situation and get some space. With this withdrawing we can get some perspective. We can steady our souls in the the presence of the LORD so that we act in a way that pleases Him.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

