To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Fathers Loving Mothers

Here is a video of John Piper and John MacArthur being interviewed. Towards the beginning John MacArthur talks about his memories of his father, and strikingly mentions his memory of how he knew in his early days, how much his father loved his mother. This led me to muse about the issue of fathers loving mothers.

I am not sure of the origin of this statement, but I remember it from somewhere that “the greatest gift that a father can give to his children is to love their mother.” Now that should set us husbands and fathers thinking! I thence ask myself the question do my children know that I love May Lin, their mother and my wife?

It is not surprising that fathers loving mothers is such a key issue. I say this because God’s call upon husbands, in scripture, is to love your wives, just as Christ loved the church and gave himself up for her (Eph. 5:25a). Christ loves the church self-sacrificially to the extent of giving up His own life. Do I love May Lin like that?

And when the husband is loving his wife like that the wife is secure in her marriage relationship. She feels cherished and protected and is in a position where she can flourish in her mothering and homemaking ministry. And when that happens the children find security in the family and can flourish in the development of their characters and gifts.

So Philip commit yourself to loving your wife. And if you read this you might pray for me to that end!

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

