To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

I am a mature Christian

There are certain statements that leave me wondering why people say them. Why do people say for example that “I am a mature Christian”. Do they say that to impress you?

I don’t see anyone in scripture venturing down that line. What does our Saviour say of Himself. I am gentle and humble in heart (Matt. 11:29b). Paul was so reluctant to compete with the ever so impressive super-apostles who were foisting themselves on the Corinthian church. Finally, after resisting pressure to boast in himself he says Since many are boasting in the way the world does, I too will boast. (2 Cor 11:18). He then will go on to focus his boasting on how much he suffered and was humiliated for the cause of Christ  (see 2 Cor. 11: 23-33).

Moreover, Paul would want us to know that he is the “chief of sinners” (see 1 Tim. 1: 15). And if he was to boast he would only want to boast in the cross of our Lord Jesus Christ (see Gal. 6:14a).

So what do you want to tell others about yourself? What position or achievements do you want to boast in? And as for myself may it be that I humble myself under the mighty hand of God that He may exalt me in due time.

Call me what you will, all I want you to know is that I am a wretched wicked sinner saved by the grace which is so rich towards me in Christ Jesus. Oh what a salvation; oh what a Saviour. Praise Him (not me).

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

