To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

I can recite the scripture. , in fact I have known it for may years: Cast all your anxiety on him because he cares for you (1 Pet. 5:7). I know the words and yet I so often fail in the doing. I so easily fall into the trap of being a worrier. I write about coping with stress (see here)  and still fail to cope with stress. I know about how much our Father cares for us and yet I fail to trust Him to take care of me. Oh wretched man that I am. I am just a hypocrite. telling others to trust in the Lord, but failing to do so myself.

So let us go back to Peter’s injunction. We can debate the tense of casting. Consensus says that is an aorist. It is the once for all tense. This is not a grammatical irrelevance. Hiebert tells us casting “depicts a decisive, energetic act.” In using this the word in this way the Lord indicated that I can’t take an issue back after I have cast it upon Himself. The once and for all tense indicates that I should give my care to the Lord and leave if with Him.

Accordingly, when an issue comes upon me and I am beset and troubled, I say “I will not carry this any longer my Lord is bigger and stronger and wiser than me, I will cast it upon Him.” I give it to Him and say “Lord you look after this.” And when Satan comes or I in my weakness want to take it back I say “No! My Lord has it and He can take care of it. Once and for all I give it to him and that is enough.”

Oh LORD be my helper in these things . I have failed You, that is surely true. I do need to you. Thank you Lord.

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

