To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

One Monday last month it was a joy to be able to spend time with someone a consider a friend. I worked with Hussain for  a period and we have kept in touch since I left the Valuation Office. I went to his home and met him and his two fine sons and Hamza and Haroon. Both his sons were courteous and respectful and I commented to May Lin when I got home about the impressiveness of the two boys.

Hussain and myself have chatted at length regarding many issues. Hussain is a Muslim. To some it would come as a surprise that I as a Christian should be able to have friendship with a Muslim. We talked about this when we met. Many think that if you hate Islam then you hate Muslims. I was saying to Hussain that I consider him to be a friend and love him as a human being, but I reject his religion.

In fact it is my love for him that leads me to reject (and dare I say hate his religion). Why do I say this? I believe it is only through Jesus Christ that we can know peace with God. It is only through Jesus Christ that we can have eternal life. No other religion offers this. No matter what religion whether it be Hinduism, Islam, Sikhism or whatever.

The implications of this are very big. For the true Christian it is an eternity in heaven. For all those who are outside of Christ it is an eternity in hell. I am so blessed and privileged to have this eternal life. Of course it has all come because God has been so kind to me. So can you not understand why I might detest any belief system whatever it may be which keeps someone from this wonderful eternal salvation which is in Christ.

So there would be no greater joy for me than for Hussain and all his family to become followers of Christ and have this eternal salvation. I thank God for my friendship with Hussain. So I pray for him and his family. If I truly understand this great gospel message, how can I be content to see anyone, and most particularly those I cherish, be headed to an eternal hell?

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

