To venable (verb): To randomly muse upon this and that.

Death is Real

My Mum passed away last Friday, October 4th. As you can imagine, this has had a deep emotional impact upon me. To see my once active Mum lifeless and smitten by death has carved deep impressions into my being.

One thing I am left pondering upon is my own mortality. It is one of the things that we are most keen to shun from our minds. And yet it is a reality. It is the fact that we are all appointed to die. The profound and brazen fact is that people are destined to die once, and after that to face judgment (Heb. 9:27)

We so easily convince ourselves that we are immortal. It is of course a great deception. All around in our news and in our everyday lives we are confronted by people passing into death, and yet we think it will never be us. But it will be me. There is no question; I will be taken from this world. So where does this leave us?

  • In Psalm 37:4 we read

‘Show me, Lord, my life’s end
    and the number of my days;
    let me know how fleeting my life is.

When we realize how fleeting life is we can start to think upon what really matters in life.

  • Be prepared to meet Your God. We don’t know what will happen from day to day.
  • Live every day as it might be your last. Do all to live for the Lord’s glory.
  • Notwithstanding what i have written above, the Lord has promised to return to take His people to glory. It may be that we do not have to pass through the realities of death. Rather we will be transported to ever be in the presence of the Lord. So we look for our lord from heaven.

You may feel that this is a morbid post. but I want it to be a realistic post. and in our realism we will be making sure that all is for God in our lives.

Comments on: "Death is Real" (1)

  1. […] Death is Real (venabling.wordpress.com) […]

Leave a Reply

Tag Cloud

